Managing Project Members and Roles

Managing Project Members

Project members are the people on your project team. They are the people who will submit or resolve issues on your project. From a project screen click Admin > Members on the navigation bar to access the Members screen, where all project members are listed with their roles. Project managers add members to the project from the pool of users within their company. Project managers can also remove individual members from the project as necessary.

A  project manager can add or remove a member by clicking Admin > Members on the project navigation bar.

Project Members

From this page, you can view a list of company users who are also project members, along with their assigned role(s) and the date of their last activity in Squish. You can mark the checkbox(es) next to members, then select the roles which that user(s) should have. After all roles are selected, click Set roles for selected members. Note that this will remove previously assigned roles from user accounts before adding the selected role(s).

Note: If there are no company users who are active and are not already members of the project, this section will not be displayed.

project_members_list.png

There is a link to See an overview of member permissions. The page this opens has a chart which lists every project member. It details each member's overall permissions, as well as their permissions for each available issue type.

member_permission_overview.png

To Add Project Members

  1. Click on the Add Members button.
  2. Select one or more company users' names from the Select Users to Add field. The name(s) will appear in a row. You can select as many names as needed.
  3. Select the role(s) for the user(s) by checking the boxes next to those roles.
  4. Click the Add Users button.

Note: If you have selected a user by accident you can take them off the line before clicking the Add Users button by clicking on the X at the right of their name.

Individual Member Screens

You can reach an individual Members screen by clicking on the project Admin menu and clicking on Members.  From the Project Members click on a project member name.

A permissions table displays the member's permissions to perform actions for each issue type. You can change the roles that a member has by checking and unchecking the boxes next to the roles in the Roles field. Click Update Member when finished. If you click the member's name again, the permissions table will reflect the new permissions.

To Remove Project Members

  1. Click the checkbox next to the members you would like to remove.
  2. Click the Remove Selected Members button.
  3. Click the OK button on the dialog box to confirm.
    1. If the user has any issues assigned to them, another page will open notifying you of the number of issues assigned to them. You may select a new user to assign those issues to, or select the option to reassign those issues to no one.
individual_member_permissions.png

Managing User Roles

role_permission_list.png

Roles provide a way to group users logically within a project.  They also control the six general permissions and five issue type specific permissions within the project.

A user may be assigned multiple roles, and the general permissions below only need to be assigned in one role for the user to perform that action, unless otherwise specified. For instance, if a user is a member of Role A, which can be assigned issues, and Role B, which cannot, then the user can be assigned issues.

General permissions

 The general permissions are:

  1. View Developer Fields - Whether the user can access fields which are marked as developer-only.
  2. Access Admin - This allows users who are not the Project Owner to access the project management interface and options.
  3. Is Assignable - Whether the user can be assigned issues.
  4. Edit Wiki - Determines whether the user can edit wiki pages.
  5. Mass Change - Whether the user can mass change issues within the project.
  6. Enforce Workflow - If selected, the user will be required to use available workflows when updating issues.
    • Unlike other general permissions, the Enforce Workflow permission only requires workflows be used to update issues if that permission is assigned in all of the user's roles.

You can see a list of which members have each role by clicking See overview of all roles to go to the Role Overview screen. From the Role Overview screen, you can click the role names to edit the role or on member names to go to the individual Members screens for those members.

Issue Type Permissions

There are five permissions that govern what a user may do for issues of each type:

  1. Can View
  2. Can Submit
  3. Can Comment
  4. Can Update
  5. Can Delete

These permissions are assigned by issue type and role. For instance, a Developer role may be able to view all issue types, but only submit Bugs. The ability to delete issues might be only assigned to the Manager role. Like general role permissions, these permissions are checked across all of a user’s roles for the applicable issue type – if any of the user’s roles have permission for the issue type at hand, the user has that permission.

Permissions are also respected when displaying issues. A user will only see issues of types they have permission to view. A user that only has permission to view an issue (not update) will not have the ability to update any of the fields. Finally, only issue types a user has permission to submit will be visible to that user when submitting.

To add a role:

  1. Click Create a New Role on the Roles screen
  2. Enter a name for the role.
  3. Check the appropriate options for the role:
    • Can view developer-only fields and comments
    • Can access the project administration pages
    • Can be assigned issues
    • Can create and edit wiki pages
    • Can mass change issues via search
    • Ensure that issue updates only occur through workflows

      new_role_creation.png

  4. Select project members to be assigned the role.
  5. Check the appropriate permissions to be associated with each existing issue type.
    • Can View
    • Can Submit
    • Can Comment
    • Can Update
    • Can Delete
  6. Click Create Role.

To delete a role:

Open the individual role screen by clicking on its name on the Roles screen and click the Delete Role button. Click OK on the confirmation dialog to confirm.

Updating Roles

On the individual Roles screens, you can:
  • Change the role name.
  • Select different general permissions.
  • Select different permissions for each issue type.
  • Change the members who are assigned the role.

Click Update Role to save the changes.

updating_an_existing_role.png